World Golf Tour and Sexual Orientation

WGT

I was meandering about the web a week ago trying to find games for my kid. I fell upon a golf program that I thought might be fun, not knowing in 24 hours I would be ‘like’ totally addicted. Wow, this started out as an exercise to feel like a good parent and it turned into a free for all Dad golf fest. I installed the program quickly and continued to play it, and play it and you know. That’s the definition of a bad father and I didn’t care.

So after a week climbing the levels from ‘hack’, to ‘amateur’ and finally to ‘pro’ golfer I can resolutely say I am sick for this game. And for the ‘only the lonely’ its a great way to meet people from around the world who also have nothing better to do but ‘self-serve’ their insane appetite for hitting a virtual ball around a virtual course for a couple of hours. I’m glad this game wasn’t available 20 years ago when my own father a golfing enthusiast may have also fell under the same spell. I have made more friends in one week than I have made in my life. What’s great about that, is I wasn’t doing it to make friends. I was doing it to sink a put. They may not be real attachments in the sense of being at a party getting shit-faced, but they are people who exist and enjoy playing golf on digitally fabricated courses against similarly fucked-up individuals.

Louis CK about facebook

Every game I have played is with a male avatar of the golfer. Golfing is a heavily male dominant sport and based on my experience in the virtual version it has been mostly played by crappy dads such as myself. Then suddenly, out of the clear blue heaven skies, a digital God smiled upon us and a woman golfer appeared in our online golf group.  Our game leader said ‘Nice to have a woman in our group’. ‘Don’t try to be so nice cause it’s the first time you have seen a virtual woman golfer avatar’, I said. But there she was – in that skimpy, slick, tight as a virgin’s arse golfers two piece. It was, to all of us – a revelation. And you know what happened? She kicked our backsides! She told us she lived in Ireland and loved the World Golf Tour Program. And us ‘crappy dads’ were in seventh heaven responding to her like those eager kids vying for a willy wonker bar. That’s how old most of us are – we can remember that shit.

So there she was beating us into the ground, outplaying us at every hole and for the first time in history we didn’t care for being beaten. A few of us had dropped well behind the Irish lass, but naaa we didn’t pay it any mind. We were playing with a woman! And as we got further onwards from small talk, the strangest thing happened.
She wrote, ‘I live with my wife in Ireland and our two kids’. ……And you couldn’t hear a pin drop. Then after a long pause one golfer forfeited, another turned about 180 degrees hit his pitching shot into a bunker…forfeited and I dribbled beer down my top.
What do you say after that?
‘I’m a lesbian’ she said.  I couldn’t think of anything to write. The only thing I could come up with was ‘My father was a lesbian’. A George Constanza moment I call it.
‘If your father was a lesbian, how were you conceived?’  ‘My point is sexual orientation isn’t important’ I replied.
‘It’s a long story’. She wrote. ‘Probably too long for 9 holes of golf? I snapped.
I unintentionally hit my ball out of bounds twice and eventually forfeited my game. I wish in hindsight I did hear the long story.

'I am a man, a hopelessly inquisitive man, just like you.' - The Master

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Sport and Adventure

Leave a Reply

Goodreads
Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers

LR MLB Betting

The serious long-term MLB Investor

LR MLB Betting

If you build it, they will come

Christina Strigas

You can't break up with a soul mate

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

Adventures of a Book Addict

Life with Literature, Lattes, and a Little Pug

the undiscovered writer

Writer: a peculiar organism capable of turning caffeine into books.

lightravellerkate

reflections on life as an house sitter and perpetual traveller

e-Tinkerbell

Literature, books , sport and whatever intrigues me

SmirkPretty

Eyes ten degrees above the horizon

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

IN A LONELY PLACE

CINEMATIC ENCOUNTERS IN THE DARK

poetry crush

Sometimes people are mean. But not here.

Talkalittledo - For Life Is Funny

Real Life. Real Stories

Design of the Picture Book

the intersection of graphic design + picture books

Friendly Spanish Blog

Spanish classes for adults in London and online Spanish courses anywhere in the world

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

A Story a Day

A short daily daily short story

Wheels and Goals

News, updates, features and opinions on football and motor sport

When Dylan Sank the Isle of Wight

Jon Blake's novel celebrates the UK's first great rock festival

Auto World Nation

Check out the baddest articles about the Automotive World

Live Life in Crescendo

Inspiring readers to live life with gusto

Musical Wishes Blog

Random Musings on Personal Development

"Broken Glass"

Quietly contemplating female characters in English and American literature

